Underage DWI in Rochester, NY
Skilled Rochester Underage DWI Defense Attorney
While DWI is a serious criminal charge for a person of any age, it can be especially damaging for those under 21 years of age. Because it is (in most cases) illegal for minors to consume alcohol, the threshold for a DWI arrest is significantly lower. The penalties, however, are often just as severe as those for 21 and over DWIs.
If you or a family member has been arrested for an underage DWI in New York, contact our experienced Rochester DWI defense attorney immediately for tough representation. A DWI conviction can cost you a lot of money, your driver’s license, and even your freedom. When you retain Christopher K. Rodeman Attorney at Law, you can expect dedicated representation designed to get you the best possible results.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DWI in New York?
Like all DWI crimes in New York, the penalties for an underage DWI can range in severity, and will typically be far more serious if this is your second or subsequent conviction. Your first DWI conviction could cost you:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of at least $500, and up to $1000
- A suspended driver’s license for 6 months
- A prior can be used against you in future DWI cases
- Huge increase in insurance premiums
For many minors, this is just the tip of the iceberg. Overzealous prosecutors often try to “send a message” to minors accused of DWI and pursue many other charges based on the unique circumstances of the case.
These charges include, but are not limited to:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to other minors
- Soliciting alcohol
- Charges related to a fake ID
- Other traffic violations
What Is the Underage DWI BAC limit in NY?
New York has a Zero Tolerance Law for drivers who are under the age of 21, prohibiting them from driving with a BAC of .02% or more. If an underage driver is caught driving with a BAC of .02%, but not greater than .07%, they can face a license suspension for six months. This is significantly lower than the BAC threshold for adults over 21, which is 0.08%.
Enlist Aggressive Defense for Your Underage DWI Case
The fact is underage DWI charges are too serious to take a risk with. While I can’t guarantee any specific case results, I can promise to put my 22 years of criminal law experience to work for you when you hire Christopher K. Rodeman Attorney at Law. I am not only a Rochester DWI defense lawyer but also a former prosecutor, giving me a unique understanding of how the state will build their case against you, and more importantly, how to weaken it.
Over 20 Years of Experience
Affordable Payment Plans
24/7 Availability for Emergency Calls
Flat-Rate Pricing for Cases Involving DWI
Experience as a Special Assistant District Attorney
Former DWI Bureau Chief for Monroe County DA's Office