Rochester Felony DWI Lawyer
Contact Our Skilled Defense Attorney Now
Under most circumstances, a drunk driving charge in New York is considered a misdemeanor.
However, if certain conditions are met, the state can consider it a felony.
At my firm, I have worked with numerous clients who needed their rights and interests protected and have consistently secured them favorable results. I understand what to look for in this cases, how to compellingly argue for a reduction or dismissal on my clients' behalf, and—most importantly—how to secure results.
When is a DWI a Felony in New York?
A first DWI is considered a misdemeanor in New York State. The punishment includes a substantial fine, mandatory surcharge, license revocation, and possible jail time. Being charged with aggravated DWI is another type of crime.
DWI is a felony in New York when:
- The driver has another DWI conviction in the last 10 years (second offense)
- The driver has two other DWI convictions in the last 10 years (third offense)
- The driver has three other DWI convictions in the last 15 years (fourth offense)
- There is another passenger in the car under 16 years of age
If any of the above circumstances applies to you, then you could be exposed to serious felony penalties, such as substantial fines and prison time. At my firm, our Rochester DWI Lawyer is ready to assess your case and proactively start pursuing any and all avenues towards the best possible outcome.
Pursue aggressive defense for your felony DWI in New York case today. Use this online form to request a free consultation.
Former DWI Bureau Chief for Monroe County DA's Office
Experience as a Special Assistant District Attorney
Flat-Rate Pricing for Cases Involving DWI
24/7 Availability for Emergency Calls
Affordable Payment Plans
Over 20 Years of Experience