Rochester Underage DWI
Skilled Rochester DWI Defense Attorney
While DWI is a serious criminal charge for a person of any age, it can
be especially damaging for those under 21 years of age. Because it is
(in most cases) illegal for minors to consume alcohol, the threshold for
a DWI arrest is significantly lower – the penalties, however, are
often just as severe.
If you or a family member has been arrested for underage DWI, contact our
experienced Rochester DWI defense attorney immediately for tough representation.
A DWI conviction can cost you a lot of money, your driver’s license,
and even your freedom. When you retain Christopher K. Rodeman, Attorney
at Law, you can expect dedicated representation designed to get you the
best possible results.
Don’t take risks with a DWI conviction. Call today for your
free initial consultation.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DWI?
Like all DWI crimes in New York, the penalties for an underage DWI can
range in severity, and will typically be far more serious if this is your
second or subsequent conviction. Your first DWI conviction could cost you:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of at least $500, and up to $1000
- A suspended driver’s license for 6 months
- A prior can be used against you in future DWI cases
- Huge increase in insurance premiums
For many minors, this is just the tip of the iceberg. Unfortunately, overzealous
prosecutors often try to “send a message” to minors accused
of DWI, and tack on many other charges based on the unique circumstances
of the case. These include, but are not limited to:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to other minors
- Soliciting alcohol
- Charges related to a fake ID
- Other traffic violations
Think you have to plead guilty to DWI? Think again. Call (585) 928-4193
today to learn how our attorney can defend you.
What is the Threshold for Underage DWI in New York?
Although New York’s laws aren’t as harsh as states with a complete
“zero-tolerance” policy, they are nonetheless extremely aggressive.
If a driver under 21 years of age is caught with a blood alcohol content
of 0.02% or more, they can be arrested for driving while intoxicated.
This is significantly lower than the threshold for adults over 21, which is 0.08%.
Call (585) 928-4193 for Aggressive Defense
The fact is, DWI charges are simply too serious to take a risk with. While
we can’t guarantee any specific case results, we can promise to
put more than 16 years of criminal law experience to work for you when
you hire our firm. Our Rochester DWI lawyer is a former prosecutor, giving
him a unique understanding of the way the state will build their case
against you, and more importantly, how to weaken it.
For an attorney who will go to battle to defend your rights and freedom,
call (585) 928-4193 today.