Felony DWI in New York
Contact our Skilled Rochester DWI Defense Lawyer Now
Under most circumstances, a drunk driving charge in New York is considered
a misdemeanor offense. However, if certain conditions are met, the state
can consider a drunk driving charge a felony. Felony convictions provide
much harsher criminal penalties than misdemeanors and DWI charges are
no exception. If you've been charged, the time to seek proven legal
representation is now.
At my firm
Christopher K. Rodeman Attorney at Law, I have worked with numerous clients who needed their rights and interests
protected and have consistently secured them favorable results. I understand
what to look for in this cases, how to compellingly argue for a reduction
or dismissal on my clients' behalf, and—most importantly—how
to secure results.
You do not have to face your felony DWI charge without a trusted Rochester
DWI defense attorney by your side.
Call my offices at 585.928.4193 today.
When Is Drunk Driving a Felony?
For drunk driving to be a felony in New York, the court must recognize
particularly serious circumstances surrounding the incident in question.
These circumstances either speak to the driver's history of drunk
driving or indicate that they represented a dangerous threat to others.
Drunk driving is a felony in New York when:
- The driver has another DWI conviction in the last 10 years (second offense)
- The driver has two other DWI convictions in the last 10 years (third offense)
- The driver has three other DWI convictions in the last 15 years (fourth offense)
- There is another passenger in the car under 16 years of age
If any of the above circumstances applies to you, then you could be exposed
to serious felony penalties, such as substantial fines and prison time.
At my firm, I'm ready to assess your case and proactively start pursuing
any and all avenues towards the best possible outcome.
I'm ready to hear your story today. Use this online form to request a
free consultation now.