Sexual Abuse in Rochester, NY
Counsel from a Skilled Rochester Sex Crime Defense Attorney
According to New York's Penal Code Article 130, sexual abuse is defined
as subjecting someone else to sexual contact without that person's
consent. These are very serious charges that, like other sex crimes, can
result in harsh penalties, sex offender registration, and damage to the
accused's reputation. If you have been charged, the time to speak
with proven, trusted legal counsel is now.
Christopher K. Rodeman Attorney at Law, I understand the unique stakes involved in sex crime charges. That is
why I always implement a thorough and proactive approach to these types
of cases. Often, these clients are not only in need of aggressive advocacy
inside the courtroom but also before the press and the court of public opinion.
As a former prosecutor, I always endeavor to bring a dynamic defense to these cases to ensure
that every facet of the state's case against my client is effectively
You do not have to face this troubling time without a trusted Rochester
sex crimes lawyer by your side.
Contact my firm at 585.928.4193 today.
Sexual Abuse Definitions
Article 130 defines several different degrees of sexual abuse, organized
by perceived severity. The circumstances of the alleged crime and the
age of the perpetrators and victims are both key to deciding what degree
of the crime is charged and what possible penalties the accused might face.
The New York Penal Code provides the following sexual abuse definitions:
Third-degree sexual abuse (article 130.55). Any sexual contact without the victim's consent. In cases where the
victim is under 17, or over 14 when the defendant was less than five years
older, there will be additional considerations. This is a class E misdemeanor.
Second-degree sexual abuse (article 130.60). Any sexual contact that happens without the victim's consent where
the victim is under fourteen years old or is incapable of giving consent.
This is a class A misdemeanor.
First-degree sexual abuse (article 130.65). Any sexual contact that happens without the victim's consent and
occurs due to forcible compulsion, when the victim is physically helpless,
the victim is less than eleven years old, or when the victim is less than
thirteen years old and the defendant is more than 21 years old. This is
a class D felony.
There is also
persistent sexual abuse (article 130.53) which can be changed when the accused has two or more previous sexual
abuse convictions within a 10 year period. Additionally, aggravated sexual
abuse charges can occur if the circumstances are suspected to be particularly
serious or violent.
No matter what your charge is, however, I can help. To learn more about
your charges and how my firm can help secure the best possible outcome,
contact me to request a
free case evaluation.